Kundalini Rising, Part 6: Ajna, the Third-eye Chakra

“The eye through which I see God is the same eye through which God sees me.” ~ Meister Eckhart

As Kundalini energy rises up from the lower elements of earth, water, fire, air and ether, it enters into the realm of light. Our Ego-centric Will has become Soul-centric Intent. Our individual ego has now merged with Cosmic Mind.

Personal mastery is at hand, but spiritual myopia is ever-present. This article will discuss the paramount significance of the sixth chakra: Ajna, the Third Eye. The Third Eye has been opened. We have now moved into the “command center” of the Kundalini process.

Ajna means “to command,” through this chakra we can learn how to master our minds. Where before we were under the illusion that all things were separate and disconnected, we gain the ability to see how everything is interconnected, how we are all truly one.

Wisdom is a boon in this region. But we must remember that true mastery is not mastering others; it’s mastering our former self.

Like Nietzsche wrote, “Only now are you going your way to greatness. Peak and abyss, they are now joined together, for all things are baptized in a well of eternity, and lie beyond good and evil.”

The Ajna chakra is symbolized by a violet lotus with two petals. It is located directly behind the forehead. It is the seat of consciousness as well as our “sixth” sense, often referred to as the psychic chakra.

Ajna-chakra-third-eyeThe two petals represent the primordial duality of subject and object, otherwise known as the psychic channels Ida and Pingala. These two channels merge with the central channel Sushumna, signifying the end of duality.

In the center of the lotus is the symbol for OM, or Omkara, a mantra and mystical Sanskrit sound of Hindu origin. This chakra is associated with intuition and the planet Jupiter, and is often associated with the pineal gland, a small endocrine gland in the vertebrate brain that is believed to be the biological equivalent of the third eye.

If, as Yogi Bhajan said, “Going through life without intuition is like driving a car which has no side mirror and no rearview mirror. All you can see is just straight ahead” then it behooves us to keep this chakra clear and healthy.

The deity associated with this region is Ardhanarishvara, an androgynous form of Shiva-Shakti, symbolizing the duality of male feminine energy. A less common name for this chakra is jnana padma or “knowledge-lotus.” It bestows upon us the wisdom to act rationally and without judgment.

A person with a strong Ajna Chakra has greater intuition, a strong sense of identity, and the ability to self-reflect. When this chakra is clear we gain the ability to see ourselves and others as spiritually interconnected beings.

The challenge of the Ajna chakra is to learn how to see beyond the five body senses by trumping the Ego with Cosmic Mind. When this chakra is closed or blocked we tend to lack in imagination and intuition resulting in poor decision making and self-deception.

Physically, third eye weakness may manifest as eye problems, headaches, insomnia, or even nightmares.

Buddhist Monk Meditating at Cambodian Temple
Tratak meditation is best accomplished using candlelight, awakening and energizing the third eye

Ajna Chakra Meditation:

Kundalini meditation contains many profound techniques for this chakra. Consistent focus on this energetic center is extremely powerful.

Tratak (steady gazing) and Shambhavi Mudra (gazing at the space between the eyebrows) are two practices said to stimulate the third eye.

While meditating, visualize a luminous ball of warm indigo energy spinning slowly at the center of your forehead. Imagine it shooting powerful bands of light down and through the lower chakras, filling your entire being with divine light.

The Tratak meditation is best accomplished using candlelight, by gazing at the flame without blinking, holding your gaze for 2 minutes then gently close your eyes and “see” the flame in your mind’s eye. Thus awakening and energizing the third eye.

With the end of duality and the opening of the Cosmic Eye, we are now moving up into pure consciousness. Self-actualization is upon us. In Tibetan Buddhism the third eye chakra is the last of the chakras. In Kundalini Meditation there is a seventh, final chakra: The Sahasrara chakra, the Crown Chakra.

Image Sources

Third Eye Image

Please share, it really helps! :) <3

Gary Z McGee
Gary Z McGee
Gary 'Z' McGee, a former Navy Intelligence Specialist turned philosopher, is the author of Birthday Suit of God and The Looking Glass Man. His works are inspired by the great philosophers of the ages and his wide awake view of the modern world.


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest for Members


Upcoming Events

You May Like

For Members

Nietzsche’s Eternal Recurrence, a Litmus Test for the Quality of your Life

What would it mean if you could say yes to everything that has happened in your life? Not being a foolhardy yes-person, but rather...

Confronting Our Subconscious Definitions to Rewrite Our Story

"When you hear things come out of your mouth or thoughts go through your head that sound like facts, you have to stop and...

3 Ways to Claim Your Energy Back and Start Living Again

"You cannot control the behavior of others, but you can always choose how you respond to it." ~ Roy T. Bennett, The Light in...
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x